State Laws Have Changed

As of March 29, 2019 — State laws have changed Michigan’s minimum wage and what employers can offer their workers in paid medical leave. 

These 2 new proposals were initiated by Michigan residents, but changed last year by the Republican-led Legislature, and are both now in effect!

  • Minimum wage
    • Minimum hourly wage has gone up from $9.25 to $9.45!
  • Paid medical leave
    • This new law only applies to businesses with over 50 employees. Now they must offer their workers 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 35 hours they work, up to 40 hours per year. This allows employers to limit it to 1 accrued hour per week.

**For more details reference Michigan’s Public Act 369 of 2018**

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *